When Writer’s Block Looms…

What do you do, when you need a bit of fresh inspiration or focus? It’s two weeks into November, which means NaNoWriMo is probably starting to take its toll on people’s enthusiasm, creativity and wordsmithing. I am, unsurprisingly, behind on my word count, but I’m not beating myself up about that because I’m still writing with a lot more discipline than I usually would.

What I find interesting is how the intensive nature of the writing challenge forces me to make decisions differently. Usually I’m careful and reflective in my writing. I consider all the options and work to get exactly the words I want on the page. Now, however, I’m trying to get a draft finished in a few weeks and so if I have a crazy idea I think let’s try that and see how it goes. I can always come back and edit it later. And I’m finding that fun and unpredictable. I’ve already included a few ideas that were either sillier or more personal than usual. It’s refreshing, even if it’s going to need a lot of editing.

I wonder if other people are finding their writing style is affected in similar ways.

I was going to call this post When Writer’s Block Strikes but that doesn’t really sum up what’s motivating me. It’s the threat of writer’s block that keeps me powering through – the thought that maybe I’ll get stuck soon, so I’d better make the most of this time.

2 thoughts on “When Writer’s Block Looms…

  1. Kate M. Colby says:

    I feel the same way. I’ve been worried that writer’s block will creep up and ruin my NaNoWriMo efforts, so I’ve worked very hard to get ahead. However, I’ve found that planning my main story beats out beforehand has kept the block at bay. Usually, I don’t plan and that’s when I get stuck, so maybe I’ve learned a lesson here. Best of luck with NaNoWriMo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. frenchc1955 says:

    For me, it is simply discipline–the practice of writing a certain amount each week. I also fear what will happen if I let myself stop that pace. Will I lose the habit of writing. I enjoyed your post enormously.

    Like

Leave a Reply

