When Your Research Makes You Sound Like You’re Plotting Something…

When you’re writing, you end up researching a weird range of subjects. I love hearing about other people’s topics of choice – it gives you a small insight into the richness of their project. And I love learning strange new things in the name of creativity.

For example, for the novel I’m currently editing, I’ve found myself researching current police guidelines on handling a missing person case, including the effectiveness of infra-red cameras and helicopters in searching for a body. And I can’t help but wonder what someone would think if they saw that in my browser history!

In addition to that I’ve been reacquainting myself with Irish and Welsh mythology, investigating modern farming practices, checking ferry routes from the early twentieth century, and learning a lot about plants. I’ve been so grateful to all the people I know who are already experts in some of these things and have been able to answer my questions.

So what strange combinations of research themes has your work required? And what’s the weirdest question you’ve had to ask someone?

One thought on “When Your Research Makes You Sound Like You’re Plotting Something…

Leave a Reply

